Press Releases

NTPC to take over Chhabra Power Station in Rajasthan

12th Jan, 2017

NTPC Ltd. has signed a Memorandum of Understanding ( MoU) with Rajasthan Rajya Vidyut Utpadan Nigam Limited (RVUN) and Rajasthan Urja Vikas Nigam Limited (RUVNL) for take-over of Chhabra Thermal Power Plant Stage-I (4x 250 MW) and Stage-II (2x660 MW) of Rajasthan Rajya Vidyut Utpadan Nigam Limited by NTPC Ltd. in the presence of Smt. Vasundhara Raje, Chief Minister of Rajasthan in Jaipur on 11th January, 2017. The organizations shall execute Binding Agreements based on the detailed due diligence being underway.

Shri A. K. Gupta, Executive Director (Commercial) NTPC, Shri N.K. Kothari CMD, RVUN and MD, Shri Bannalal from RUVNL signed the MoU on behalf of their respective organizations.

Best practices of NTPC in efficiency and systems will benefit and improve performance of Chhabra Project, benefiting the consumers of the state.

Shri Pushpendra Singh, Energy Minister of Rajasthan, Shri Sanjay Malhotra, Principal Secretary Energy, Shri Shreemat Pandey, Chairman DISCOMS, Shri A. K. Verma, Joint Secretary Power Ministry (GoI), Shri Gurdeep Singh, CMD, NTPC, Shri R. G. Gupta, Advisor Energy Deptt. were present on this occasion.

« Back to Press Releases