About Us


NTPC Electric Supply Company Ltd. (NESCL)

The company was formed on August 21, 2002. It is a wholly owned subsidiary company of NTPC with the objective of making a foray into the business of distribution and supply of electrical power, as a sequel to reforms initiated in the power sector. The company was also mandated to take up consultancy and other assignments in the area of Electrical Distribution Management System.

Its maiden entry into power distribution was by forming a 50:50 JV company ‘KINESCO Power and Utility Private Ltd.’ with Kerala Industrial Infrastructure Development Corporation (KINFRA). It is already distributing power in KINFRA owned industrial theme parks.

With the objective of sectoral support in the area of distribution, NESCL has been assigned the responsibility of implementing rural electrification works under the Rajiv Gandhi Grameen Vidyutikaran Yojana (RGGVY).


NTPC Vidyut Vyapar Nigam Ltd. (NVVN)


NTPC Vidyut Vyapar Nigam Ltd. (NVVN) was formed by NTPC Ltd, as its wholly owned subsidiary to tap the potential of power trading in the country thereby promoting optimum capacity utilization of generation and transmission assets in the country and to act as a catalyst in the development of a vibrant electricity market in India. The company holds the highest category ‘I’ trading license from CERC.

The Government of India has designated the company as the nodal agency for Phase I of the Jawaharlal Nehru National Solar Mission (JNNSM) with a mandate for purchase of power from Solar Power Projects connected to grid at 33 KV and above and for sale of such power bundled with the power sourced from NTPC Coal Power Stations to distribution utilities under Phase I (2010-2013) of JNNSM, which envisages setting up of 1000 MW solar capacity.

The Company has been designated as the nodal agency for cross-border trading with Bhutan and Bangladesh and has entered into an agreement with Bangladesh (BPDB) for supply of 250 MW power for 25 years from various central generating stations of NTPC.

The Company is also engaged in ash business involving sale of Fly Ash and Cenosphere from various coal power stations of NTPC. Read more »


Kanti Bijlee Utpadan Nigam Limited (formerly known as Vaishali Power Generating Company Limited)


To take over the Muzaffarpur Thermal Power Station (2*110MW), a subsidiary company named ‘Vaishali Power Generating Company Limited (VPGCL)’ was incorporated on September 6, 2006 with NTPC contributing 51% of equity and the balance equity was contributed by the Bihar State Electricity Board. The company was rechristened as ‘Kanti Bijlee Utpadan Nigam Limited’ on April 10, 2008. Present equity holding is NTPC 64.57% & BSEB 35.43%. The company is upgrading the existing unit and establishing new plant.


Bharatiya Rail Bijlee Company Limited (BRBCL)


A subsidiary of NTPC under the name of ‘Bharatiya Rail Bijlee Company Limited’ was incorporated on November 22, 2007 with 74:26 equity contribution from NTPC and Ministry of Railways, Govt. of India respectively for setting up of four units of 250 MW each of coal based power plant at Nabinagar, Bihar. Investment approval of the project was accorded in January, 2008. 90% power from this project is to be supplied to Railways to meet the traction and non-traction power requirements.

Patratu Vidyut Utpadan Nigam Limited (PVUNL)

PVUNL has been incorporated on 15.10.2015 as a subsidiary of NTPC with 74% stake in the Company and 26% of stake held by JBVNL to acquire, establish, operate, maintain, revive, refurbish, renovate and modernize the performing existing units and further expand capacity of Patratu Thermal Power Station, District Ramgarh, Jharkhand in two phases i.e. Phase-I (3x800 MW) and Phase-II (2x800 MW).

Government of Jharkhand has issued the Notification dated 01.04.2016 for transfer of assets of Patratu Thermal Power Station to Patratu Vidyut Utpadan Nigam Limited.


Nabinagar Power Generating Co. Ltd.

The Company was incorporated on 09.09.2008 as a Private Limited Company with Bihar State Power Generation Company Ltd. (erstwhile BSEB) with a view to set up 3x660 MW Thermal Power Plant at New Nabinagar, Bihar and operation & maintenance thereof. Consequent upon transfer of shares held by BSPGCL to NTPC, the Company became wholly owned subsidiary of NTPC w.e.f. 29th June 2018. Subsequently, word “Private” was removed from its name.